Castellano Music


Chamber Music
Brass Ring (2017) for alto sax, tenor sax, baritone sax, trumpet and trombone (arrangement of the 2007             brass composition) 
View of the Rocky Mountains (2017) for brass quintet
In Seventh Heaven (2016) for guitar quartet
Dream Themes (2013) for guitar quartet
Senza Titolo (2010) for flute, clarinet and bassoon
Contemplation (2009) for flute, violin, viola and cello
Images By Paul Klee (2008) for string quartet
Snapshots (2006) for percussion quartet
From a Dream (2002) for String Quartet (transcription of the piano solo)

Instrumental Duos
Squawk Back (2012) for flute and tape
Lullaby (2013), piano duet (two players at one piano)
Shades of Blue (2012) violin and piano, commissioned by NJMTA
Dialogues with Marvin (2010) for cello and marimba
It Takes Two (2007) for clarinet and cello
Winged Expressions (2007) for flute and clarinet

Large Instrumental Ensemble
Revelations (2011) for chamber orchestra, commissioned by the North/South Chamber Orchestra conducted by Max Lifchitz
Brass Ring (2007) for brass ensemble

Piano Solo
Images (2015) collection of seven pieces
Avoiding Time (2015)
Three (2014)
Winging It (2014) 
Peaceful Pause (2012), beginner level solo commissioned by NJMTA
Avian Adventures (2012), intermediate level solo commissioned by NJMTA
Modern Dance (2012), advanced level solo commissioned by NJMTA
Sketches (2009) 
Spectrum, Seven Preludes for Piano (2005)
Conflicting Colors (2004), collection of four short pieces
The Castle at Sunrise (2003)
To Scriabin (2003)
From a Dream (2002)

Solo Instrument
For the Birds (2009), oboe solo
Pavor Nocturnus (2008), viola solo
Reverie (2003), flute solo

Musique Concrète
Invention in Squawk (2014), based on the sounds of my two parrots, Sunny and Nikki 
Falling Angels (2013) based on the sounds of piano strings
Threnody for the Victims of September 11th (2011) based on the sounds of piano strings
Marvin Goes Avant-Garde (2010) based on Marvin Rosen's on-air voice as heard on WPRB 103.3 FM - Princeton NJ
Squawk Rock (2008), based on the sounds of my two parrots, Sunny and Nikki 
Bionic Birds (2008) visual musique concrète based on the sounds and images of 
     Sunny and Nikki

Time (2014) for baritone and piano
I Am (2008) for SATB Choir and Organ
Mine to Keep (2003) for mezzo-soprano and piano, based on a text by Helen Keller